Best AI certifications: the ones worth your time, and the ones that aren't
Of 803 AI job ads in Europe, 11 mention a certification and none requires one. Every major AI exam compared, and the few cases where one helps.
Thomas Couderq, Founder of Tokn
9 min read

In this article⌄
- Do employers ask for AI certifications?
- The 11 ads that mentioned a certification
- Some companies say they don't need them
- When is an AI certification worth it?
- The best AI certifications in October 2026, compared
- AWS, Google Cloud and Microsoft
- Anthropic, OpenAI and Hugging Face
- Course certificates
- Which AI certifications were retired in 2026?
- Which AI certification should you get?
- What to do instead of an AI certification
- Find AI jobs that value what you've built
- FAQ
- Are AI certifications worth it?
- What is the best AI certification for beginners?
- Are AWS Machine Learning Specialty and AI-102 retired?
- Can I take a Claude certification?
- How long do AI certifications last?
The best AI certifications are the ones tied to a platform you will be paid to work on. For most AI jobs, you don't need one. We read the full text of the 803 AI job ads live on Tokn as of 14 October 2026: 11 mentioned a certification, none required one, and none named an AI or machine learning certification.
That doesn't make every certificate useless. Below: when one pays off, the main AI certifications with price and validity, what was retired in 2026, and what to do instead. It is part of our guide on how to get a job in AI.
In short
- In 803 European AI job ads, certifications came up 11 times, always as a plus. Proof of work (open source, GitHub, a portfolio) came up 90 times, 8× more often.
- A certification helps when you sell, deploy or consult on one vendor's platform. For ML engineering and research, 0 of 290 ads mentioned one.
- 2026 retired or replaced several exams, including AWS ML Specialty and Azure AI-102. Check the issuer's page before you book.
Do employers ask for AI certifications?
Almost never, in our data. As of 14 October 2026, 11 of 803 AI job ads on Tokn (1.4%), at 8 of 79 companies, mentioned a certification. None required it, and none named an AI or ML certification. We searched the full ad text on each company's hiring system, because certifications usually sit in the "nice to have" section.
| What the ad mentions | Ads | Share of 803 |
|---|---|---|
| Any certification | 11 | 1.4% |
| An AI or ML certification | 0 | 0% |
| A degree | 217 | 27% |
| A PhD | 72 | 9% |
| Proof of work (open source, GitHub, portfolio, side projects, Kaggle) | 90 | 11% |
The degree figure needs a caveat. Anthropic and Celonis put a degree line in almost every ad as boilerplate; without them, 20% of ads mention one. And 94 of the 217 add "or equivalent" experience.
164 ads named AWS, Google Cloud or Azure as a skill; only 2 asked for the matching certification, both as a nice-to-have.
The 11 ads that mentioned a certification
None is an ML engineering, research or data science role.
| Employer | Roles | Certifications named |
|---|---|---|
| Databricks (3), Celonis (1) | Pre-sales and solutions architecture | Their own certifications; Celonis also AWS, Azure or GCP |
| Cohere (2), GitLab (1) | Program managers | PMP, PgMP, CSM |
| Mistral AI, Voodoo, Anthropic | Security, compliance, IT, audio-visual | CISSP, CISM, Security+, CTS |
| Ekimetrics | Cloud engineer at a consultancy | Azure Security Engineer Associate, CKS or equivalent |
The PMP mentions were for program managers; no product manager ad asked for a certificate, as our AI product manager guide found. The Ekimetrics ad, advertised in October, listed Azure Security Engineer Associate, which Microsoft retired on 31 August 2026. The ad said "or equivalent", but certification catalogues clearly move faster than job ads.
Some companies say they don't need them
ElevenLabs wrote in six ads: "We do not require any formal certifications or degrees", asking instead for "past projects, designs, or GitHub contributions". Two Anthropic research ads listed "Formal certifications or education credentials" among what strong candidates "need not have", though the same ads stated a minimum of a "Bachelor's degree or an equivalent combination of education, training, and/or experience".
When is an AI certification worth it?
When it matches the platform you will work on. Four cases stand out.
- Pre-sales, solutions and partner roles at a platform vendor or consultancy. Databricks asked for "Databricks certification or experience with the Databricks Platform". See our guide to forward deployed and solutions roles.
- Your employer pays because it is a partner. Anthropic says more than 36,000 consultants at over 1,300 organisations earned a Claude certification since March 2026; Accenture alone committed to 50,000.
- You want structure to learn a cloud stack you'll use at work. A syllabus is a decent study plan, and an exam date is a deadline.
- Security, compliance and program management, where CISSP and PMP are long established.
It is not a door-opener for ML engineering, LLM engineering or research at AI labs and startups. Those ads ask for PyTorch, evaluation work and shipped projects: see the skills AI employers ask for.
Two limits: Tokn mostly covers AI-native companies, so consultancies and the public sector, where certifications count for more, are underrepresented. And a certification can still break a tie between two CVs.
The best AI certifications in October 2026, compared
List prices in USD before tax, as of October 2026. Microsoft sets prices by country (in the US, about $99 for Fundamentals and $165 for Associate exams). Several exams are changing: check the official page before booking.
| Certification | Level | Price | Valid for | Recommended experience | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| AWS AI Practitioner | Foundational | $100 | 3 years | None | Live |
| AWS Machine Learning Engineer – Associate | Associate | $75 beta ($150 for the previous version) | 3 years | 1+ year with SageMaker | New version in beta |
| AWS Generative AI Developer – Professional | Professional | $300 | 3 years | 2+ years of production apps, 1 of GenAI | Live |
| AWS AI Business Strategist | Business | $50 beta, $100 standard | 3 years | None; for PMs, sales, consultants | Beta |
| Google Cloud Generative AI Leader | Foundational | $99 | 3 years | None | Live |
| Google Cloud Professional Machine Learning Engineer | Professional | $200 | 2 years | 3+ years, 1+ on Google Cloud | Live |
| Google Cloud Professional Agentic Architect | Professional | $120 beta ($200 list) | 1 year, per Google | 3+ years in cloud, 1+ on agents | Beta; general availability expected mid-November |
| Azure AI Fundamentals (AI-901) | Fundamentals | ~$99 (US) | Doesn't expire | Basic Python | Live; replaced AI-900 |
| Azure AI Apps and Agents Developer (AI-103) | Associate | ~$165 (US) | 1 year, free renewal | Python, Microsoft Foundry | Live; replaced AI-102 |
| Azure ML Operations Engineer (AI-300) | Associate | ~$165 (US) | 1 year, free renewal | MLOps on Azure | New |
| Databricks Generative AI Engineer Associate | Associate | $200 | 2 years | 6+ months of GenAI | Live |
| Databricks ML Associate / Professional | Associate / Professional | $200 each | 2 years | 6+ months / 1+ year | Live |
| NVIDIA Generative AI LLMs (NCA-GENL / NCP-GENL) | Associate / Professional | $125 / $200 | 2 years | Not stated | Live |
| Snowflake SnowPro Specialty: Gen AI | Specialty | $225 | Not stated | 1+ year of GenAI on Snowflake | Live |
| Claude Certified Associate, Developer, Architect | Foundations / Professional | Not published | Not published | Staff of partner firms | Partner-only |
| OpenAI Certifications (AI Foundations) | Foundational | Not published | Not published | Staff of pilot employers | US employer pilots |
AWS, Google Cloud and Microsoft
AWS's ML Engineer Associate is moving to a new version that adds generative AI, agentic AI and Bedrock; no general availability date yet. Google's new Agentic Architect states a 1-year validity, which is unusual: Google's renewal rules give professional certifications 2 years. Microsoft's role-based certifications expire yearly, but renewal is a free online assessment. Databricks, NVIDIA and Snowflake exams pay off mainly if your employer runs that platform.
Anthropic, OpenAI and Hugging Face
Claude certifications (four since July 2026) come with the Claude Partner Network: "Exams are available to members of the Claude Partner Network", so you can't book one alone, and Anthropic has not published a price or format. If you work at a partner such as Accenture, Capgemini or Deloitte, ask internally. Anyone can take the free Anthropic Academy courses, which end with a certificate of completion, not a proctored exam.
OpenAI Certifications launched in December 2025, delivered inside ChatGPT through pilots with employers such as Walmart, BCG and Accenture, according to Analytics India Magazine. The goal is 10 million certified Americans by 2030. As far as we could verify, there is no public exam to book from Europe.
Hugging Face courses, such as the Agents Course, are free, certificates included.
Course certificates
A course certificate proves you finished a course, not that you passed a proctored exam. Elements of AI is free. Andrew Ng's Machine Learning Specialization takes about two months at 10 hours a week; the certificate needs a Coursera subscription ($49 a month). fast.ai gives no certificate, but you deploy your own model by lesson 2. For non-technical options, see AI jobs without coding.
Which AI certifications were retired in 2026?
If you're studying from an old guide, check here first.
| Certification or exam | What happened | Take instead |
|---|---|---|
| AWS Machine Learning Specialty | Retired; last exam 31 March 2026 | ML Engineer Associate or GenAI Developer Professional |
| AWS ML Engineer Associate (old version) | Last English exam 28 September 2026 | The new version, in beta since 29 September |
| Azure AI Engineer Associate (AI-102) | Retired, renewal included | AI-103 |
| Azure AI Fundamentals (AI-900) | Exam replaced in 2026 | AI-901 |
An exam can change while you prepare for it, so book soon after you finish studying.
Which AI certification should you get?
Pick by the job you want, not by a ranking.
| If you are… | Do this |
|---|---|
| A complete beginner | A free course (Elements of AI, Anthropic AI Fluency), or one foundational exam: AWS AI Practitioner, Google Generative AI Leader or AI-901 |
| A software engineer moving into AI | Build an LLM project first. Add AWS GenAI Developer or Databricks GenAI Engineer only if your company runs that stack |
| An ML engineer | Google Professional ML Engineer or AWS ML Engineer Associate if you work on that cloud; otherwise skip. See becoming a machine learning engineer |
| An MLOps or platform engineer | AI-300 if you're on Azure. Kubernetes appeared in 138 ads, a Kubernetes certification in one. See our MLOps engineer guide |
| A consultant or pre-sales engineer | The platform's own certification: Databricks, Celonis, or Claude through your firm |
| A PM or non-technical | AWS AI Business Strategist or Google Generative AI Leader if you want a badge. No product manager ad we read asked for one |
What to do instead of an AI certification
Ship something public. Proof of work came up in 90 ads, 8× more often than certifications:
- Mistral AI's applied AI ads: "Contributed to open-source projects, in particular in the space of LLMs".
- Scale AI's new-grad ad: "Open source contributions or a portfolio of shipped side projects".
- Legora's legal engineer ad: "a bootcamp or self-taught background counts entirely".
A peer-reviewed Oxford Internet Institute study of more than 10 million UK job ads (2018 to mid-2024, published February 2025) found a 23% wage premium for AI skills, against 13% for a master's degree. It measured skills, not certifications.
Certification vendors tell a rosier story. In Pearson VUE's 2025 sponsor survey of nearly 24,000 IT professionals, 32% said they got a raise after certifying. The figures are self-reported, and Pearson VUE sells exam delivery.
We think one project you can demo beats three badges: it gives you something to talk about in interviews, and a badge doesn't.
Find AI jobs that value what you've built
Most AI employers on Tokn hire on skills and shipped work. If you're aiming at roles where certifications count, browse solutions and deployment jobs, and set up a job alert to get new roles by email.
FAQ
Are AI certifications worth it?
For most AI engineering and research jobs, no: none of the 290 such ads on Tokn as of 14 October 2026 mentioned one. They help if you sell, deploy or consult on a specific platform, or if your employer is a partner and pays.
What is the best AI certification for beginners?
Start with a free course such as Elements of AI or Anthropic's AI Fluency. For a proctored exam, as of October 2026: AWS AI Practitioner ($100), Google Cloud Generative AI Leader ($99) or Azure AI Fundamentals AI-901 (about $99 in the US). None will open doors on its own.
Are AWS Machine Learning Specialty and AI-102 retired?
Yes. The AWS Machine Learning Specialty's last exam was on 31 March 2026; holders stay certified for 3 years. Microsoft retired Azure AI Engineer Associate (AI-102) and replaced it with AI-103, and Azure AI Fundamentals moved from AI-900 to AI-901.
Can I take a Claude certification?
Only through an organisation in the Claude Partner Network; Anthropic has not published a price or exam format. Anyone can take the free Anthropic Academy courses, which give a certificate of completion.
How long do AI certifications last?
As of October 2026: AWS, 3 years. Google Cloud, 2 years for professional and 3 for foundational, though the Agentic Architect page states 1 year. Microsoft role-based certifications need a free yearly renewal, and Fundamentals never expire. Databricks and NVIDIA, 2 years.





